A month for Freyr?

Brand intends to spend the month writing about his father. On my own end, I will be out of town briefly, dealing with very stressful things, and then I have a retreat to attend, and I need to plan my wedding, write vows, figure something or other out about it all.

In an ideal situation, someone would be able to let Freyr borrow their body, but the two people I could ask are very bad at it. One is willing to try ahead of time to see if it’s possible. If not, I’m far from the first person who will be marrying a disembodied god.

I would like to plan a special meal. As it happens, where I will be upstate, there is a place that sells local raw honey very inexpensively, and we plan to get quite a bit of it. There’s a recipe for a honey liquor that will be ready in enough time, which I’m planning on doing. We need to buy a bread pan, and we can make a fresh loaf of gluten-free bread to eat warm with butter and raw honey.

What else? Since it’s summer, he loves feeding me extravagant salads. I could make a honey dressing or honey vinaigrette, and put together something using lots of different ingredients. I will be forever hunched over the cutting board, and my hands may be useless afterward, but it’s probably what I would be eating at home, along with roasted vegetables. Maybe roasted with rosemary and thyme? Trying to think of something to do with fruit. There is a vote for honey jasmine ice cream.

So, with all of this rushing around for that, I can only assume that he will be on my mind every single day in August. It seems appropriate to make it into a devotional act.

I don’t know if anyone else is interested in dedicating a month to writing about him, especially after so many people will be spending time writing about Loki in July. But I would certainly be very happy if other people decided to join me in doing it. He’s hardly unknown, and he’s completely acceptable to worship, so perhaps it isn’t as important as writing about a marginalized, misunderstood god, whose followers are demonized along with him, both because of him and because of the public perception of Lokeans, these days.

But because he’s completely acceptable, I don’t see as much writing about him. Especially not much that goes beyond “fertility god, penis, penis, penis, incest.”

Maybe the people who are drawn to him or vice versa have similar temperaments as me, and are quiet, and not prone to doing a lot in front of other people, because our relationship is so centered around the idea of home.

Thirty-one days will be difficult, but my energy does not cost money. And he is worth it.

9 thoughts on “A month for Freyr?

    1. shannonkotono Post author

      I am very much looking forward to your writing. Especially since you are in the position of knowing both of them, though you and I are reversed: I have Loki as a father and Freyr as a (soon-to-be) husband.

      Reply
  1. Tanisha

    This is only the Greatest Idea Ever. I’m not the showiest heathen, who blogs and wears antlers, but I adore him! I’ll figure something out.
    Thank you!

    Reply
    1. shannonkotono Post author

      Thank you! Most of my daily activities are very quiet — eating honey, spending time with him. Blogging is a strange stretch for someone as private as I am, but we all felt that I might benefit some people, somewhere.

      Reply
  2. Beth

    Reblogged this on Wytch of the North and commented:
    Boosting the signal: August has been proposed as a Month for Freyr by a soon-to-be spouse of His (please note that Shannon is a male Shannon :)), and I think this is a wonderful idea. Last year I attempted to have December as a Month for Odin and failed miserably at it, partly because I had so many offline spirit work duties during the Yule season and partly because He had other plans for that month. This year I want to try a month of blogging for Him again, but maybe in October or November instead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

